CHILD TAX CREDIT EXPANDED THROUGH THE AMERICAN RESCUE PLAN

Up to $300 a month per child for the next year for Michigan families


Through the historic American Rescue Plan legislation Gary helped pass and was signed into law we expanded the Child Tax Credit to $3,600 for children under the age of six and $3,000 per child, ages 6 to 17. All working families will get the full credit if they make up to $150,000 for a couple or $112,500 for a family with a single parent. 

So what does that mean for you and your family?

  • Michigan families are now eligible to receive an additional payment of up to $300 a month per child for the next year 
  • Families with dependents who are 18 years old or full-time college students aged 19-24 can claim a one-time payment of $500 
  • If you filed taxes in 2019 or 2020, you will receive these payments automatically beginning on July 15th, 2021 and do not need to take additional action

However, if you do not file taxes, you may miss out on these payments.  You must submit your information at: https://www.irs.gov/credits-deductions/child-tax-credit-non-filer-sign-up-tool in order to receive these payments.

For more information, you can go to https://www.whitehouse.gov/child-tax-credit/


El crédito tributario por hijos se amplió con el plan de rescate estadounidense que Peters ayudó a aprobar.  Los pagos comenzarán el 15 de julio.

La mayoría de las familias estadounidenses serán elegibles para los pagos mensuales que comenzarán el 15 de julio de 2021 y durarán un año. Las familias elegibles recibirán $3,600 por cada niño menor de 6 años y $3,000 por cada niño de 6 a 17 años. Todas las familias trabajadoras obtendrán el crédito completo si ganan hasta $150.000 por pareja$112.500 por una familia con un solo padre.

Entonces, ¿qué significa eso para usted y su familia?

  • Las familia de Michigan ahora son elegibles para recibir un pago adicional hasta $300 cada mes por cada niño para el año que viene.
  • Las familias con dependientes de 18 años, o aquellas con estudiantes a tiempo completo de 19 a 24 años, pueden recibir un pago único de $500.
  • Los pagos se depositarán automáticamente para las familias que declararon impuestos en 2019 o 2020, y para esas familias, no se requiere ninguna acción adicional.

Sin embargo, las familias que no presentaron impuestos ninguno de los años deben registrarse en el sitio web del IRS (https://www.irs.gov/credits-deductions/child-tax-credit-non-filer-sign-up-tool) antes del 15 de julio para recibir todos los beneficios. Las familias que se inscriban después del 15 de julio comenzarán a recibir el apoyo ampliado en el próximo pago mensual el 15 de agosto.

 Para más información, puedes visitar https://www.whitehouse.gov/child-tax-credit/.

 

###