Senate Passes Peters, Stabenow Resolution Recognizing Rosa Parks’ Courage, Contributions to the Civil Rights Movement

On 60th Anniversary, Senators Honor Parks’ Heroic Refusal to Give Up Bus Seat

WASHINGTON, D.C.– U.S. Senators Gary Peters and Debbie Stabenow applauded the Senate’s passage last night of a bipartisan resolution to honor the 60th anniversary of when civil rights pioneer Rosa Parks refused to give up her seat to a white passenger on a Montgomery, Ala., bus. Parks' December 1, 1955 arrest sparked the Montgomery Bus Boycott, which was a turning point in the fight for civil rights. She and her husband, Raymond, relocated to Michigan in 1957 where she lived until her death in 2005.

“Rosa Parks is an example of how courage and determination can change the course of history,” Senator Peters said. “As we commemorate the 60th anniversary of Rosa Parks’ historic Montgomery bus ride that helped promote the fight for equality and justice during the Civil Rights Movement, we honor her legacy that inspires all Americans to stand up for justice and freedom.”

“60 years ago today, Rosa Parks changed our nation's history by courageously sitting down in order to stand up for human dignity,” said Senator Stabenow. “This resolution recognizes the critical role Parks played in the civil rights movement and highlights her heroism and bravery at a time of extreme unrest and discrimination in America.”

Parks was born in Alabama and is known as the “first lady of civil rights.” Her arrest led to 42,000 African Americans boycotting the Montgomery buses until the bus segregation law was changed over a year later.

Senators Jeff Sessions (R-AL), Richard Shelby (R-AL), Barbara Boxer (D-CA), Tim Kaine (D-VA), Patrick Leahy (D-VT), Bill Nelson (D-FL), Mark Warner (D-VA), Al Franken (D-MN), Mazie Hirono (D-HI), Ed Markey (D-MA), Thad Cochran (R-MS), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Harry Reid (D-NV) and Ben Sasse (R-NE) cosponsored this resolution.